CLIMATE EXTRMES

ClimarisQ simulates our Perception of Climate Change

Although the increase in global average temperature poses a direct extinction risk to many living species, human perception of climate change is through extreme events such as observing rainfall irregularities,(late start of the rainy season, early cessation of rainfall, and higher frequency of pockets of drought), or experiencing increasingly hot temperatures that have significant effects on agriculture and health. ClimarisQ simulates extreme climate events and their impacts on human societies using real climate models.

In ClimarisQ players try to do better than the IPCC’s intermediate scenario (RCP 4.5) and limit CO2 emissions in 2100 to [450-550] ppm to avoid the catastrophic consequences that are triggered at [800-1100] ppm. For tipping points in the climate system see here

Extreme events and climate change

The link between the development of our knowledge of climate and the prediction of extreme weather impacts remains a challenge for scientists interested in climate. The question of the link between global warming and the increase in extreme weather events recorded by meteorologists therefore has no definitive or absolute answer. It differs according to the type of event concerned. While there is little doubt about the link for some events, for others, a great deal of data is still needed before a possible causal link can be established. In ClimarisQ, the economic and societal challenges posed by the events are represented with a simulator built from IPCC models.

Extreme events in ClimarisQ

ClimarisQ includes a realistic extreme event generator (heat and cold waves, heavy rainfall, and droughts) built from data from several IPCC climate models and validated with reanalysis data (~observations) ERA5. The characteristics of extreme events implemented in ClimarisQ are the average intensity, the duration of the episodes and their frequency. These three indicators were derived under the IPCC RCP8.5 scenario which is the most pessimistic climate scenario with a radiative forcing of +8.5W/m2 and greenhouse gas emissions compatible with a “business as usual” scenario. The implementation work (internship of Soren François at LSCE under the direction of Davide Faranda) consisted of two different phases: i) characterization of extreme events in the models with respect to observations of the XX century, ii) realization of a simulator of extreme events by CO2 concentration. The realization of this generator is based on the data of the climate model selected from the analysis of the different models performed beforehand. The creation of this simulator relies on a mathematical model based on the exteme value theory allowing a rigorous description of the probability of extreme events. Also this generator uses data from 15 major metropolises on each continent (North America, South America, Europe, Africa, Asia and Oceania) which by the important concentration of people, their position of major economic poles, constitute sensitive and essential areas in the study of climate extreme events. The link between the development of our knowledge on climate and the prediction of extreme weather impacts remains a challenge for scientists interested in climate.

EXTREMES CLIMATIQUES

ClimarisQ simule notre Perception du changement climatique

Même si l’augmentation de la température moyenne de la planète constitue un risque direct d’extinction pour plusieurs espèces vivantes, la perception du changement climatique par les populations humaines passe par les phénomènes extrêmes comme l’observation des irrégularités pluviométriques, (démarrage tardif de la saison des pluies, l’arrêt précoce des pluies et la fréquence plus élevée des poches de sécheresse), ou l’expérience des températures de plus en plus chaudes qui ont des effets importants sur l’agriculture et la santé. ClimarisQ simule les évènements extrêmes climatique et leurs impacts sur les sociétés humaines grâce à des vrais modèles climatiques.

Dans ClimarisQ les joueurs essaient de faire mieux que le scénario intermédiaire du GIEC (RCP 4.5) et limiter les émissions de CO2 en 2100 à [450-550] ppm pour eviter les conséquences catastrophiques qui se déclenchent à [800-1100] ppm. Pour les points de bascule dans le système climatique voir ici

Evenements extrêmes et changement climatique

Le lien entre le développement de nos connaissances sur le climat et la prévision des impacts météorologiques extrêmes reste un défi posé aux scientifiques s’intéressant au climat. La question du lien entre réchauffement climatique et la multiplication des événements climatiques extrêmes enregistrés par les météorologues ne trouve donc pas de réponse définitive ni absolue. Elle diffère selon le type d’événement concerné. Si elle ne fait guère de doute pour certains événements, pour d’autres, elle nécessite encore de nombreuses données avant d’établir un éventuel lien de causalité. Dans ClimarisQ, les défis posées économiques et sociétales posés par les événements sont représentés avec un simulateur construit à partir des modèles du GIEC.

Les événements extrêmes dans ClimarisQ

ClimarisQ inclut un générateur d’événements extrêmes réalistes (vagues de chaleur et de froid, fortes pluies et sècheresses) construit à partir des données de plusieurs modèles climatiques du GIEC et validé par les données de réanalyses (~observations) ERA5. Les caractéristiques des évènements extrêmes implémentées dans ClimarisQ sont l’intensité moyenne, la durée des épisodes et leur fréquence. Ces trois indicateurs ont été dérivées dans le cadre du scénario RCP8.5 du GIEC qui est le scénario climatique le plus pessimiste avec un forçage radiatif de +8.5W/m2 et des émissions de gaz à effet de serre compatible avec un scenario « business as usual ». Le travail d’implémentation (stage de Soren François au LSCE sous la direction de Davide Faranda) a consisté de deux phases differentes: i) caractérisation des évènements extrêmes dans les modèles par rapport aux observations du XX siècle, ii) réalisation d’un simulateur d’événements extrêmes par concentration de CO2. La réalisation de ce générateur s’appuie sur les données du modèle climatique sélectionné à partir de l’analyse des différents modèles effectuée au préalable. La création de ce simulateur repose sur un modèle mathématique s’appuyant sur la loi des extremum généralisées permettant une description rigoureuse de la probabilité d’événements extrêmes. Aussi ce générateur utilise les données de 15 grandes métropoles sur chaque continent (Amérique du Nord, Amérique du Sud, Europe, Afrique, Asie et Océanie) qui par la concentration importante d’individus, leur position de pôles économiques majeurs, constituent des zones sensibles et essentielles dans l’étude des évènements extrêmes climatiques. Le lien entre le développement de nos connaissances sur le climat et la prévision des impacts météorologiques extrêmes reste un défi posé aux scientifiques s’intéressant au climat.